DWS Fund

DWSF 2015

Distinguished Women Scientists Fund DWSF 2015

In 2012 the Dutch Network of Women Professors created the Distinguished Women Scientists Fund, a travel grant (max. 1500 euro) for female postdocs - up to 3 years after promotion and working and residing in the Netherlands - who wish to travel abroad in the framework of their discipline.

Laureates 2015



Cathrin Canto is a postdoctoral researcher at the Netherlands Institute for Neuroscience (NIN), Amsterdam. She is interested in unraveling how neuronal firing patterns translate into learning and memory mechanisms.

Nikki Damen is a postdoctoral researcher at the Netherlands Institute for Health Services Research (NIVEL), Utrecht. Her area of research is medication safety, more specifically the “Safety-II perspective”, where the focus lies on what happens when healthcare processes go right: what do these processes look like and what can we learn from them?

Tessa Diphoorn is assistant professor at the Department of Cultural Anthropology at Utrecht University. She will conduct preliminary fieldwork on the daily operations of the Independent Police Oversight Authority in Nairobi, Kenya.

Fenneke Sysling is a postdoctoral researcher at the Descartes Centre History of Science, Utrecht University. She is studying the history of self quantification. Her research is focused on the way individuals in 19th-century started to think about themselves through phrenology, the study of the protuberances of the skull based on the belief that they reveal character and mental capacity.